Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » Congratulations to the 2018 Charrette Winners

Congratulations to the 2018 Charrette Winners

Published February 21, 2018

The Department of Interior Architecture + Design would like to congratulate the winners of the 2018 Charrette Design Competition sponsored by Interface. Participants were challenged with designing a fictional space based off of the book Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino.  Students were organized into four-person teams such that each team had at least one second year, third year, and fourth year student.  The cities of Fedora, Octavia, Baucis, Leandra, and Andria were selected from the text as inspiration for the design of an interior space that included a prominent view over the city.  All of the creative design solutions, including the winners, are displayed in the WJB first floor north hallway. The department would also like to thank Professor Steven Webber for his efforts in organizing the annual design challenge.

First place ($1000) was awarded to Kristina Goodman, Alina Krasovskaya, Marra Lopes, & Alejandro Marquez (Team 237).

Second place ($800) was awarded to Brianna Langman, Evanjelina Neri, Delaney Millard, & Summer Jansen (Team 225).

Third place ($600) was awarded to William Lumpkin, Sheridan Markham, Hanna Aaron, & Yasmeen John (Team 216).

Honorable Mentions Include:

Fedora: 211 – Gehring, Frey, Hulslander, & Garber

Octavia: 219 – Varnedoe, McAlpine, Taylor, & Miller

Baucis: 222 – Whaley, Diaz, Ghazal, & Pomo

Leandra: 229 – Gervickas, Roberts, Fuerst, & Sotter

Andria: 239 – Hwang, Song, & Brown