Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » 2024 Alumni Award Winners Taneshia West-Albert & Lisa League Honored at 50th Anniversary Celebration

2024 Alumni Award Winners Taneshia West-Albert & Lisa League Honored at 50th Anniversary Celebration

Published March 19, 2024

West-Albert receives her award from Council Chair Michael Fornaro

The Florida State University Department of Interior Architecture & Design celebrated its 5th annual alumni awards in style, during its 50th Anniversary Celebration on March 2.   

Department Advisory Council Chair Michael Fornaro, Ph. D., and Vice Chair Seka Collins (BS 2004) presented the 2024 Emerging Alumni Award to Taneshia West-Albert (MFA 2010), associate professor at Auburn University in Alabama, and the 2024 Distinguished Service Award to Lisa League (MS 2005), founder of QPractice. 

Since launching in 2020, the Department’s Alumni Awards have recognized 15 graduates for their contributions to the design industry and design education at FSU.

Nominate a worthy graduate today. 

“The Department recognizes that the success of our alumni helps build and enhance the reputation of this amazing program. Those recognized serve as shining examples for our students.” 

– Jim Dawkins, Chair 

West-Albert, League and Jefferson served as career panelists.

League receives Alumni Award from Council Vice Chair Seka Collins

League and West-Albert joined 2023 Distinguished Alumni Winner Dionne Jefferson (BS 1998) at the beginning of this special Alumni Reunion Weekend for a student-focused Professional Panel, moderated by Assistant Professor Kelley Robinson. The panel prepped students for the afternoon’s Career & Internship Fair, at which 25 firms were present. 

In addition to sharing their FSU stories, the alumni shared advice on interviewing, branding, and how to approach challenges and opportunities in the workplace. 

“Meeting these accomplished professionals helped our students envision different paths for themselves. They walked out of the panel more confident and ready to interview. I couldn’t be more appreciative of their time and insights.” – Kelley Robinson, Assistant Professor 

Lisa League and QPractice also hosted a live NCIDQ workshop from FSU’s William Johnston Building, focused on the IDFX Interior Design Fundamentals Exam.  

About the 2024 Alumni Award Winners 

2024 Emerging Alumni Award Winner 
Taneshia West-Albert (MFA 2010) 

Taneshia West Albert

West-Albert earned her MFA in interior design at FSU in 2010, after which she focused on design for healthcare environments, corporate interiors, and higher education spaces with a unique background in medical equipment planning and facilities design and construction. In 2016, she transitioned to academia, first at Illinois State University and then to her current home at Auburn University where she was just promoted to associate professor. 

West Albert serves on the board of Interior Design Educators Council Foundation and was recognized by IDEC in 2021 for service and with a Presidential Award. In 2023, the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) recognized her as Educator of the Year.  

2024 Distinguished Service Award 
Lisa League (MS 2005) 

Lisa League

Lisa League obtained her master’s degree from FSU in 2005 and moved to Orlando where her work focused on luxury hotel design. In 2010, she took the National Council for Interior Design Qualification Exam (NCIDQ) and dreamed of a program to help break the mountain of study material into easy-to-learn chunks that could fit into busy schedules of designers like her.  

League founded QPractice in 2012 to help designers pass the test…the first time. Through QPractice, she offers practice tests, daily lessons, study groups and more.  Since its founding, the company has helped thousands of designers.