Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Home » News » Interior Design’s 33rd Annual Hall of Fame Awards

Interior Design’s 33rd Annual Hall of Fame Awards

Published February 6, 2018

On November 30, 2017, Interior Design’s 33rd annual Hall of Fame awards lit up the I.M. Pei–designed River Pavilion at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Editor in chief Cindy Allen kicked off the event with a unifying message before inducting the 2017 honorees. The ceremony honored five unique individuals who have made significant impacts in workplace, hospitality, retail, and residential design, and whose leadership and ingenuity will have lasting effects on the industry. The 2017 inductees were Robin Klehr Avia (Leadership), Peter Q. Bohlin (Architecture), Lidewij Edelkoort (Influence), and Mark Zeff (Design). In honor of his centennial, the venerated architect I.M. Pei was also given a special tribute during the ceremony, which was hosted in a building of his design.

FSU Interior Architecture & Design faculty member, Lisa Waxman, was in attendance as the representative of the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA).  Each year, this Hall of Fame Awards ceremony makes a substantial contribution to CIDA, the accrediting body for interior design programs in higher education.  Waxman stated, “It was an honor to be in attendance and CIDA is thankful to Interior Design for its support of higher education.”